Hide Last seen, Status and Profile picture on Whatsapp for Android

Here is a quickie on how you can hide your last-seen, your status, and your profile picture on Whatsapp. We will only be talking about Whatsapp for Android. I have no idea what Whatsapp is like on the iPhone or Blackberry.

Note: For those of you who still live in 10,000 B.C. and have no idea what Whatsapp is, go check it out. It is a clean app (available for a variety of mobile phones) for annoying people and wasting your time :-P And no, we are not connected to Whatsapp in any way.

1. Open Whatsapp, and press your phone's menu key. And on the menu, click 'Settings'.

2. On the menu that appears, go to 'Account', and on the menu that appears next, press 'Privacy'.

3. The options for controlling who can see your profile picture, status and last-seen are in the top, under the heading 'Who can see my personal info'.

4. For example, if you want only your contacts to see your profile picture, click 'Profile photo' and select 'My contacts'.

5. That's about it :)

Choose 'Nobody' if you want to hide it from everyone. For example, if you don't want anyone to know when you were last online (although I see no point in it: 'last seen' exists for a reason, you know), then choose 'Nobody' under 'Last seen'.

Folders in Stock Launcher on Samsung Galaxy Y

First things first.

What is a launcher?

The launcher is what you get when you press the 'home' button on your android phone. It is something like your Windows Desktop. This is from where you launch apps, and hence the name (I guess :P).

So, what is the 'stock' launcher?

In android terms, 'stock' means anything that came with the device when you bought it. For example, the stock messaging app (read application) is the default messaging app of your device. The stock launcher in Samsung android phones is called the TouchWiz Launcher. There are, of course, different versions of it on different devices. The one we're talking about here is the default launcher that you find in the Galaxy Y and Galaxy Y Duos phones.

Here's how you create a folder:

1. Press the home button on your android device. You will see something like what is in the picture. The four-white-squares-in-a-blue-square icon in the bottom-right corner shows you all your apps, when clicked. The picture of Steve Jobs is the wallpaper. The box pasted on Steve Jobs' forehead is a 'widget' that shows the time.

2. Tap and hold (long press) on an empty area in your home screen.

3. Select 'Folder' from the menu titled 'Add to Home Screen', and then select 'New Folder' from the 'Select Folder' menu.

4. And voila! Your new folder is ready. It is called 'Folder' as of now.

5. Click on the folder icon to open the folder. Long press on the folder's name when the folder opens. This opens a 'Rename folder' dialog.

6. Rename your folder and click 'OK'.

7. You can now drag and drop your shortcuts into the folder. :)

8. Your folder is ready!

To move your shortcuts out of the folder, just long press the icon and drag it out :)

A pint of boredom in one hand, and a Galaxy Y Duos on the other :P

Another note:
Oh, and for those of you with sharp eyes... Yes, it took me from 8:54 to 9:55 to write this post ;)

Permanent Private Browsing on Mozilla Firefox

So, all of us have been in that situation when we had to share a computer with quiet a number of people, and didn't want them snooping around on our browsing history ;) Modern browsers have 'private' modes which allow you to browse the web without leaving any traces on your web browser.

Google Chrome has its Incognito mode, and Mozilla Firefox has its Private Browsing mode. But instead of having to open a new private window every time, its possible in Firefox to always use Private Browsing mode. Here's how:

1. Open Mozilla Firefox. If you need help with that, close this window and forget that we even talked :P

2. Open the 'Options' panel. You can do by clicking on the 'Firefox' button on the top-left corner and selecting 'Options', or by pressing Alt + T and selecting 'Options' from the drop-down menu.

3. In the Options panel, go to the 'Privacy' tab.

4. In the 'History' section, select 'Use custom settings for history' from the drop-down list labelled 'Firefox will:'.

5. Check (tick) the 'Always use private browsing mode' option.

6. You will be asked to restart Firefox for the settings to take effect. Click 'OK'.

7. Voila! Firefox will restart, and you will be in permanent private browsing mode :)


1. I have used Firefox 21.0 here. The procedure for the latest version should be similar.

2. The value for the drop-down labelled 'Firefox will:' (in the 'Private' tab of the 'Options' window) changes to 'Never remember history' after Firefox is restarted.

3. To disable permanent private browsing, just follow the same steps and uncheck (take the tick off) the 'Always use private browsing mode' option.